alhamdulillah, dh is coming home soon insha’Allah

Asalaamu alaikum,
Alhamdulillah, my dh is coming home soon from his leave to hajj and his visit in Yemen with his family mashaAllah! These past five weeks have been a test from Allah subhana wa t’ala. Allah make it easy on all of us… edit:we will be having a Walimah for him inshaAllah and our other dear friend who returned from hajj just days ago.
 

قَالَ رَسُولُ اللٌّهِ (ص): لاَ وَلِيمَةَ إِلاَّ فِي خَمْسٍ: فِي عُرْسٍ أَوْ خُرْسٍ أَوْ عِذَارٍ أَوْ وِكَارٍ أَوْ رِكَازٍ فَأَمَّا الْعُرْسُ فَالتَّزْوِيجُ، وَ الْخُرْسُ النِّفَاسُ بِالْوَلَدِ وَ الْعِذَارُ الْخِتَانِ وَ الْوِكَارُ الرَّجُلُ يَشْتَرِي الدَّارَ وَ الرِّكَازُ الَّذِي يَقْدِمُ مِنْ مَكَّةِ.

The Messenger of Allah (blessings of Allah be upon him and his family) has said, “Walimah is only in five occasions: in the ‘Urs, Khurs, ‘Idhar, Wikar and the Rikaz – ‘Urs is when a person gets married; and Khurs is when a child is born; and ‘Idhar is on the circumcision of a baby boy; and Wikar is when a person purchases a house; and Rikaz is when a person returns from Hajj.”

As I am writing this, it got quieter and I was able to hear my own thoughts which, with a four year old son, is not always easy alhamdulillah. I just looked behind me and my ds has fallen asleep on the couch, ya Miskeena ibne, mashaAllah….

Oh where was I? Right, I was about to tell you what we have been doing for our homeschooling. Since Hajj was over alhamdulillah, things have slowed down here a bit. We go over the soorahs he knows and the ones he is working on nightly mashaAllah. (Kawthar, Fatiah and Iklas and Nas). We continue to work on his salah and arabic. His English is coming along well mashaAllah, he tells me how to spell certain words on his own now, and he has started trying to read mashaAllah. Im thinking about getting geography in the mix soon… we can make country profiles in his duatang inshaAllah. If anyone has any tips for teaching geography, please, let me know, I would appreciate it, jazash Allah khairyn.

5 Comments

Filed under geography

5 responses to “alhamdulillah, dh is coming home soon insha’Allah

  1. Asalaamu Alaikum

    Alhumdullilah. Dh went back home earlier this year for 5 weeks and it was really hard especially the last 2 weeks as I have so many kids to look after all by myself. Will you be making a welcome back hajji party for him…sorry I don’t know if there is a proper word for that. Insha Allah when he comes back we can finally meet. Tell your dh “Hajj Mabrur” for me.

    • Walaikum salaam, yes I will inshaAllah. I have a cake, it is smooth ivory buttercream with a brown ribbon along the bottom and hajj mubarak written in calligraphy on top with edible silver beads and a quilted pattern. I am cooking a few dishes and having our friends come over. My son also told me to decorate so we have balloons and streamers and sparklers mashaAllah from Eid ul-adha. We also went out and bought dh a couple (okay a few) gifts alhamdulillah. We have a nuts and chocolate platter as well 😉 Our dear friends also just returned a couple days ago from hajj so I invited them to celebrate with us inshaAllah. A sister is helping me with the cooking mashaAllah. I am going to buy some fresh flowers to put in the new glass vase I just bought (I LOVE the dollar store lol). I also am cleaning the house top to bottom inshaAllah. It is hard to keep this house clutterfree, since I have a nursery/hospital room/living room. I need to get organized inshaAllah. Any tips are welcome, on any topic above lol. Oh and the party is called a walimah rikaz…

      قَالَ رَسُولُ اللٌّهِ (ص): لاَ وَلِيمَةَ إِلاَّ فِي خَمْسٍ: فِي عُرْسٍ أَوْ خُرْسٍ أَوْ عِذَارٍ أَوْ وِكَارٍ أَوْ رِكَازٍ فَأَمَّا الْعُرْسُ فَالتَّزْوِيجُ، وَ الْخُرْسُ النِّفَاسُ بِالْوَلَدِ وَ الْعِذَارُ الْخِتَانِ وَ الْوِكَارُ الرَّجُلُ يَشْتَرِي الدَّارَ وَ الرِّكَازُ الَّذِي يَقْدِمُ مِنْ مَكَّةِ.

      The Messenger of Allah (blessings of Allah be upon him and his family) has said, “Walimah is only in five occasions: in the ‘Urs, Khurs, ‘Idhar, Wikar and the Rikaz – ‘Urs is when a person gets married; and Khurs is when a child is born; and ‘Idhar is on the circumcision of a baby boy; and Wikar is when a person purchases a house; and Rikaz is when a person returns from Hajj.”

  2. Asalaamu Alaikum

    I thought walimah was a word only for celebrating your marriage. Interesting. My friend just got back from hajj and I heard she’s sick. My daughter was sick too when she came back 2 yrs ago. Insha Allah your dh is feeling fine. Sorry I have no tips. Only thing I do is clean one day and then cook the next but I guess everyone does that.

  3. walaikum salaam
    You asked if my dh was sick… alhamdulillah he was fine until today. I just talked to him, he had been sleeping all day, and he is waiting on lab results, he has a high fever among other things subhanAllah. Allah give him shaf’aa inshaAllah. He seems soo drained mashaAllah… inshaAllah he gets ajer for it.

Leave a Reply

